Well, Episode 309, “Isn’t That A Paradox?” went over well.  Not bad for an 11th hour script that was written to replace a story that scrapped at the last minute.  I feel we need to do more of these seat-of-my-pants Anxiety-Level-11 type of episodes…

Tricia Ennis at SYFY Wire:

“I’m never certain whether Android’s deep desire to be human and to have friends and connections is sweet or sad. Maybe it’s a bit of both. Whichever it is, it is turned up to 11 this week, as Android is really the only one excited about the prospect of being stuck on Earth during the early 21st century.”

Michael Ahr at Den of Geek:

“Time travel can either be a real crowd pleaser or a confusing dud, but Dark Matter created a wonderful diversion in this week’s episode, “Isn’t That a Paradox?”

Aimee Hicks at SpoilerTV:

“This episode highlighted the essence of what makes Dark Matter so special. It showed how much all of these characters mean to one another and what they will do to look after each other and protect one another. It also gave some of the characters a chance to show off different sides to themselves.”

Blade of the Sashurai:

Dark Matter has crossed dimensions and now the past as the crew tackle a jumble of what-if’s in regards to time-paradoxes. Most positive highlights are the small moments of comedic interaction between oblivious neighbors and the android who probably oversold their disguises, but the mark was hit in a fun and enjoyable segment of levity that this show is getting better at showcasing.”

Jideobi Odunze at Geeked Out Nation:

“It didn’t take too long for us to understand the title of this episode. I absolutely love it. There is one thing I appreciate most about the point we have gotten to in Dark Matter. Time travel is tricky, but the science behind it is always the same.”

Christopher Hart at The Nerd Recites:

“The false identities that The Android concocted were brilliant and getting to see our crew mingle in such quaint situations as a neighbourhood party gave me a similar thrill to seeing Rick’s group arrive at a similar party in Alexandria in The Walking Dead (comics first, then the show). Our team aren’t made for such situations, which allows for a wonderfully awkward juxtaposition.”

CarterMatt:

“This had to be one of the funniest Dark Matter episodes that we’ve seen in a rather long time, mostly because it was a little bit domestic comedy mixed with Stranger Things.”

Hillary Esquina at Tell-Tale TV:

Dark Matter Season 3 Episode 9, “Isn’t That A Paradox,” highlights one of the main reasons why we all fell in love with the show – the dynamics of this crew. This amusing adventure gives us the perfect mix of heartfelt and informative moments.”

Now check out the Dark Matter after show, After Dark:

15 thoughts on “July 29, 2017: Dark Matter Episode 309, “Isn’t That A Paradox?” – Reactions, Responses, Reviews!

  1. I concur with the above. Fabulous episode, fun to watch. We want season 4!
    (andbringbackone)

  2. I want the RENEWAL notice please. Anyone with a magic wand, make it so. I’m not being greedy.. I’m not saying “have them give a guaranteed 2 or 3 year contract”… so come on, someone cough it up.

    Public Plea over.

    Hope the apartment hunting goes well.

  3. Very fun, good episode. I agree, these last minute stories are great. ot so great for your stress levels, but the pay off is worth it, no?

  4. I loved the episode. Amazing job with the writing, acting, everything, especially considering it was an 11th hour replacement (you need to have more last minute panic attacks – brings out the best in all of you!) I laughed so hard at parts I nearly had hot chocolate coming out of my nose! (I may discontinue drinking it while i watch – I have no idea why I started). 😉

  5. It’s shocking that this episode was written at the last minute, this has definitely been my favorite episode so far, not only was it fun to watch, but I loved Five’s arc. She has really grown so much this season! Thanks so much for making such a fantastic show, I can’t wait to hear word that there is going to be a season 4!

  6. Ahhhhh that explains it. The episode did feel rushed & convenient to me, but well done for putting it together last minute. There were some great character moments. I loved the scene on the bench between Three and Two, a good reminder that she need not take on all of the burden. Side note: who decides whether to put liquid in prop cups? Is that a set decision or an actor one? I’ve yet to see anyone who can act like an empty cup is full.

    I enjoyed Android trying to fit in to suburbia. The spoiler scene was brilliant. I wondered why she was taking control and making decisions for the crew, regarding staying on the planet. Shouldn’t she have waited for direction from Two?

    I’ve just finished Stranger Things and loved it. I must say I really enjoyed the acting from the children in this episode. I wondered if you ever considered writing from their perspective, or perhaps in another story with another planet. I imagine the Raza crew would seem very different from an outside perspective.

    Finally, Professor Brophy – I’m hoping a rewatch might clear up my confusion, but I didn’t understand why he gave up the blink drive so easily.

    Anyway, good job. Looking forward to next week’s episode.

    Cheers, Chev

  7. Two questions
    1) I don’t have cable, so I watch via SyFy.com or the SyFy app using a friend’s cable login, typically the day after the episode airs. Does that help with the show’s ratings? I really want a season 4!
    2) Why isn’t “Isn’t that a paradox” available for streaming yet? Up until now, all the episodes have been available for streaming the next day. It’s now two days past and I haven’t gotten my dark matter fix yet!

  8. Yes, the Raza needs a dog and One back.

    I wonder what the original episode was… but sometimes an accident turns out great (as this one).

  9. Why is this episode still not available for streaming through SyFy? Any guesses?

  10. @Chad B

    You need to be a Nielsen family to help with the ratings. If you don’t have a Nielsen box your viewing is not counted at all.

    But there are other ways you can help the show. Such as buying it on DVD/Blu Ray, Digitally, things like that.

  11. While at the party Friday I learned that my sister was a fan. While she don’t have cable, she must wait for it to be available on cable. I told her of the season pass I have to receive updates when they are available. She also does not have the first season. Hope she is able to fix that because I do.

  12. Oh, about my sister, she don’t have cable TV, i.e. Sci-Fi. She does have internet.

  13. You always seem to do the episodes that become favorites when you’re rushing at the last minute.

    The Raza definitely needs a dog. Don’t tell me there are no dogs 600 years later. I wouldn’t want to live in that world.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.