Due to other production commitments (mainly prep, writing, and editing), I haven’t spent as much time on set as I might have liked for this latest episode. Fortunately, my former Stargate cohort, Ivon Bartok, has done a bang-up job overseeing the action in my absence.  So good, in fact, that I could probably stay in Vancouver next season and Skype in for meetings (Don’t think I haven’t thought about it).  Today, however, was one of those rare instances where I actually spent a good part of the morning on set – in this case, watching the fantastic John Stead in action.  He positively tore through those early scenes – bridge, airlock, quarters, and the meaningful hug (the second of the season so far) – and managed to run through the big fight sequence before lunch.

February 2, 2016: On The Dark Matter Front…
Awwwww

The rest of his day was spent on the fight but, alas, I didn’t get to see it as I was in the production offices for most of the afternoon, in and out of meetings.  Oh, also the read-thru for episode 205 which was followed by a delightful tete-a-tete with actress Zoie Palmer (Android) over Japanese whisky and script notes.

February 2, 2016: On The Dark Matter Front…
Our Raza has the BEST spaceship floors

Off to watch Steve Dimarco’s director’s cut of Episode 203.  Allow me to leave you with a double dose of french bulldog…

February 2, 2016: On The Dark Matter Front…
Lulu: Tuesday morning blues.
February 2, 2016: On The Dark Matter Front…
Two of my favorite Dark Matter ladies: Tehya and Melissa O’Neil

 

17 thoughts on “February 2, 2016: On the Dark Matter front…

  1. Lulu and Tehya are so adorable. Gosh Lulu looks a bit worn out in the photo. LoL..

    I totally concur that The Raza has some pretty rad floors.

    BTW- Any idea when Season 2 will air?

  2. These early season episodes sounds like they’re living up to the first season’s promise of awesomeness. I can’t wait!

    I can totally relate to how Lulu is feeling in that picture.

  3. This is kicking me waiting for the next season! Have you ever thought of putting out a in between season set of teasers?

  4. Only 2 “meaningful” hugs this season so far…I’d say there are more hugs to come! I’m so glad to see the BEST spaceship floor of the Raza….that means our crew is soon to follow unless there are hijackers about!

    Poor Lulu! That’s how I feel Monday thru Friday when I have to get out of bed to get ready for work. Thanks for the pics! Good to see Melissa & her furry friend!

  5. “I could probably stay in Vancouver next season and Skype in for meetings (Don’t think I haven’t thought about it).”

    I don’t think you would ever do that. Come on! Dark Matter is your baby. You’ve got to touch it, hold it, feel it, and be where the action is. Stop drinking that cheap whisky and get some good whiskey. You’ll think clearer.

  6. Awwwwwwwwww thanks for the photos…. Is that Three & Five?

    Re:Showrunning from Vancouver… I know that the Arrow Showrunners do it from the US while the show in filmed in Vancouver. They Skype in for meetings and fly up to visit the set occasionally. I guess whatever works for you Joe. Would you feel isolated from production?

    Wishing you all the best.
    Cheers, Chev

  7. Dark Matter needs dogs in front of the cameras!!! When are they going to stumble upon the station — or better yet, planet — being run by dogs?? That’s be one “bitching” place! 😉

  8. Awww! Five-Six hugs!

    I’ve been re-watching The X-Files on Netflix, and I caught Roger Cross in an uncredited role as “Officer Green” in episode E.B.E. (S1,E17). Very cool. He was only on screen for a short time, but I recognized him immediately. Dude has been in EVERYTHING.

    Tehya is gorgeous! Is she Melissa’s?

  9. Your blog is full of lovely ladies today! Does Lulu have bones? That picture of her is so cute. I’m so happy she’s feeling better. I need lots of good news to keep me going.

    I could see you leaving DM for other projects but not while it’s the main one happening.

    You hanging in there Ponytail? I hope your parents are doing ok.

    FYI, I’m almost finished with this series and loved it: http://smile.amazon.com/Warship-Black-Fleet-Trilogy-Book-ebook/dp/B00RS8FT2G/ref=sr_1_3?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1454511809&sr=1-3&keywords=black+fleet+trilogy Usually the sequels can lose something but it’s the first book that kind of slow. Book two and three are very exciting.

  10. Joe!? Wadda ya on about …..skyping!!!? Daaah!
    You’re a sociable person. As everyone’s saying here, you’d sooo miss the interaction with the other members of the crew, film and Raza alike! Go on, admit it!
    Ooo, hope SD’s cut of episode 3 was EPIC! Can we see…..? Even a teaser trailer? Pleeeeze, pleeze, pleeeeeze?

    Bless little Lulu…. She looks like my Starsk’ after his chemo, absolutely shattered but it’s worth it! Do hope the metacam is improving things.. It’s good stuff but don’t hesitate if it doesn’t seem to be working, cos there are plenty of similar treatments available that might be more suitable. Don’t be afraid to ask…

  11. Looks like Lulu thought, “Maybe I’ll get up out of my bed and go get a drink of water over there…. [creak] … Ooph…. [creak] … Ugh, too far! I think I’ll just lie down here for a little rest and try again later… Zzzzzzzz….”

  12. Ugh. I wrote this long reply and it said it couldn’t post. Let me try again, but I’ll have to go through the abbreviated form. I saw this robot on Morgan Spurlock’s Inside Man where he could stay at home but the robot could be at the office. It was like a Segway build but also had a computer interface so it was like Skype. He was able to go into offices and see what his employees were doing and also have an interactive discussion with them all. The only drawback he could see is if he had to feel or taste something that was important to his job.

    Lulu’s pose is the Hilda pose when she gets up in the morning on a heavy pet sitting week.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.