February 11, 2015: Introducing Dark Matter Editor Wendy Hallam Martin!  Amanda Tapping Takes The Directing Reins!

Yesterday, I was working with editing wizard Paul Day on episode #101; today, I worked with editing wizardess (I think that’s what they call ’em) Wendy Hallam Martin on episode #102.  We enjoyed a delightful afternoon, taking the episode apart and reassembling it like a jigsaw puzzle in a frustrating attempt to ensure none of our act breaks were short.  Regardless, Wendy was positively lovely company.  Oh, and she cut a super kick-ass second episode of Dark Matter.

While I was cutting #102 with Wendy, Exec Producer Jay Firestone was working on  #101, finessing the fight scenes, building the character moments, and bringing the episode down to time.  Looking forward to watching his prod cut tomorrow. And counting up those extra visual effects shots.

February 11, 2015: Introducing Dark Matter Editor Wendy Hallam Martin!  Amanda Tapping Takes The Directing Reins!

My morning actually started bright and early in Hamilton where Amanda Tapping was directing her very first day on Dark Matter.  What fun!  Over the course of the five hours I was there, I had three crew members come up and tell me how awesome she is.  “I know,”I said.  “I worked with her for eight years!”

February 11, 2015: Introducing Dark Matter Editor Wendy Hallam Martin!  Amanda Tapping Takes The Directing Reins!February 11, 2015: Introducing Dark Matter Editor Wendy Hallam Martin!  Amanda Tapping Takes The Directing Reins!

A belated Sock of the Day for all you SuperMario Bros fans.

Finally – a fellow fan has started a gofundme page to help raise money an operation to save her dog’s sight.  Spread the word if you could: http://www.gofundme.com/lmlcec

12 thoughts on “February 11, 2015: Introducing Dark Matter Editor Wendy Hallam Martin! Amanda Tapping takes the directing reins!

  1. I would be surprised if anyone said anything other than Amanda is awesome!

    Donation made!

  2. ~question, episode numbering? starts at 101,102 etc, is there a reason, its not 1, 2, etc?
    Hi Wendy, hello Amanda, you have a terrific band back together there!
    ~nice socks!

  3. Cute socks!! Ok, here is my question about multiple directors…

    First 3 episodes and 3 different directors. Now throw in different editors who put it all together. Is this customary and why, and how do you keep the same look, feel, and continuity with different eyes behind the camera?

  4. Mailbag questions:

    How accurate do you have to be with episode lengths? I notice that most shows vary in length by up to a minute or more episode to episode. Do you have much leeway?

    Roughly how many times will you watch an episode before it’s finished?

  5. Yay, Amanda!! 😀
    BTW, LOVE her sweater! – I’m a “yarn”-person, and always on the lookout for nicely done Stitchy-STUFF… So, if she actually made it herself, well, she isn’t just AWESOME, she’s *TOTALLY*-AWESOME!!
    😀

  6. Can’t wait to see it, Hope it will be possible to watch it in Poland as well (hope)
    Would be great if I could meet Amanda in person on a Con someday..
    Nice socks 🙂

  7. Lol who doesn’t love Mario? The more recent game Super Mario 3D World is amazingly fun in multiplayer. These games are suitable for any age.

  8. Love Amanda T! She is most awesome, can’t wait to see her ep.
    Today I walked into a short blizzard with the stickiest snow ever, barely a minute in I looked like Olaf. Respect for the 8 bit Mario socks!

  9. Adorable socks. I’ll bookmark the GoFundMe page. I just made a sizable donation to Patrick’s original teacher at his autism school who is battling stage IV metastatic melanoma so I’m a bit tapped out for now. Might be in a better position come March. So sorry about the puppy. Such a tragic thing. I have a pet sitter friend who I think has a list of ways to get some grants for things like this. Let me see if she has that and can email it to me.

    I’m so happy Amanda is on board.

    Hello Wendy! I looked up what other things you’ve worked on and it appears perhaps Saving Hope Season 1 was the only thing I’ve watched. I know everyone talks about how awesome Lost Girl is but I never got around to watching it. Maybe someone when I’m caught up on stuff.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.