December 19, 2014: Prep Hiatus!  I’ll Sleep ’til January!

Today marked the end of our final week of prep before the holidays – and despite the fact that it wasn’t all that busy (it WILL get busier), I’m exhausted.  Some of that may be attributable to the last mad dash to get pink drafts of episodes #101 and #102, and production whites of #107, #108 and #109 out before the production offices close.  Or the late night meet and greet dinner and drinks.  But I mainly blame that early Thursday morning location survey that saw me getting up at 5:45 a.m. so that I could catch the 7:00 a.m. tour bus to Waterloo and Hamilton.

December 19, 2014: Prep Hiatus!  I’ll Sleep ’til January!
All aboard!

I mean, it was still dark outside when we left the production offices.  Dark!

December 19, 2014: Prep Hiatus!  I’ll Sleep ’til January!

Oh, it may not mean all that much to you now but, when the episodes air, you’ll refer back to this blog entry, and this particular picture, and say: “Hey!  This was them scouting the location for that initial confrontation with the Ferrous Corp. soldiers!”

December 19, 2014: Prep Hiatus!  I’ll Sleep ’til January!

“And this is the area where our crew first encounters the miners.”

December 19, 2014: Prep Hiatus!  I’ll Sleep ’til January!

“And…well…I don’t remember this room.”  Well, that’s because we’re not using it on this particular shoot – but I snapped a pic anyway because I found it exceptionally creepy.  Maybe we’ll come back when we film that horror movie.

December 19, 2014: Prep Hiatus!  I’ll Sleep ’til January!

The reactor room – scene of the final showdown – and our Butch and Sundance moment.

December 19, 2014: Prep Hiatus!  I’ll Sleep ’til January!

I’m ready to do my imitation of Lulu doing an imitation of a boneless ham.

11 thoughts on “December 19, 2014: Prep hiatus! I’ll sleep ’til January!

  1. I think it will be so cool, now that we see the before location shots, to see what amazing stuff they come up with for the (after)scenes. I hope there were coffee and donuts,,too early… yawn!.
    Whatever did you do to Lulu to relax her so much, kinda like a twisted all around look going for herself, but comfy in her cookie shirt. Aww,,,.

  2. I can’t wait to see it!! Really exciting to see it all unfold or form,well it’s really cool to see how it all comes together. Will we see any guest appearances from our Stargate celebs??? Really excited for you Joe!

  3. I love that room! It would be a good interrogation room or something. Mebbe board up the windows and make it a cell of some kind…a torture room…where our dashing hero is tied up, stripped to the waist….revealing his taut body, glistening with perspiration…mmmmm…and then whipped…no, no…spanked! A spanking! A spanking! You must spank him well, and after you have spanked him you may deal with him as you like, and then…

    I’ll get me coat.

    😛

    das

  4. Just wondering….
    Shooting at some of those interior and exterior locations
    during Toronto’s wintertime…will the weather(SNOW!..on the
    ground and frigid temps.) become a factor/problem?

    Dark Matter stuff…and now that we have a preview of the cast..will
    we be getting any previews of the costumes and the makeup/stylings?

    Is there any chance of the crew of the Raza adopting a pet or two?
    Cats and dogs…as in fighting like..etc.

    I like that shot of Lulu…thank you for sharing it with all of us.

  5. You’re allowing people time off for Christmas? That’s very generous of you. I thought you’d be cracking the whip! 🙂

  6. Great pictures, I can see why you’d go for locations like that. It’s not like a mining station needs to be clean, they’re mining lol.

    @Well, that’s because we’re not using it on this particular shoot – but I snapped a pic anyway because I found it exceptionally creepy.

    Imagine that room in the dark, under a full moon with the moon light shining in. Creeeepy.

  7. The locations look good and rustic. I’m excited about seeing the show. The cast looks stellar too! They all look so young though. Is that because you expect a long run for the show?

    It’s so cool that you’ve given FIVE Das, as a nickname. Although, I’m wondering….are you ok Das? You’re not sick or anything? Love seeing your comments. There is no predicting what you will say! 😆

    Since you have time off, do you have time to post your Drunken Uncle recipe? Also, what turned the recipe around for ya?

    I made oreo balls for the kids. It has 262 calories per ball! I tried one yesterday and they are addictive. I’ll be swimming extra laps! http://www.food.com/recipe/oreo-balls-52035

    I made these chocolate chip cookies a few times. If anyone is looking for a totally decadent version (it uses a pound of butter), these babies are it! Plus, they look like something from a fancy bakery: http://www.marthastewart.com/350439/alexiss-brown-sugar-chocolate-chip-cookies

  8. Take the tip from Lulu and sleep tight little one. Enjoy your Christmas break. It is well deserved and needed.

    Tam – Thanks for the recipes!

    Das – No comment about having a character named after you? You must have already known. Did you get paid for the right to use your name? Royalties from every time it is said or a show airs? A free trip to Toronto to meet Jodelle, your namesake? A coupon for McDonalds? Anything?

  9. Hmmm…I was hoping someone would get my Monty Python/The Fast Show references…

    I suppose this isn’t as sophisticated a group as I once thought.

    😉

    das

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.